Big Ten Committee Could Change Rule that a Team has to Play 6 Games to Play in the Championship Game.

Matthew Bingaman

The College Football season has been an interesting one and might get more interesting. The Big Ten committee might change the rules from having a team have to play in at least six games. The reason being the number four team in the nation, Ohio State Buckeyes, are 5-0 and their game on Saturday was supposed to be against Michigan Wolverines but the Wolverines are dealing with Covid complications. At this point in time, Ohio State WOULD NOT be able to play since they have only played five games and their game on Saturday is canceled. The Big Ten committee is facing heat because if Ohio State does not play in the championship of the Big Ten due to the rules, how will that affect if they play in the college football playoff? 

Big ten commissioner Kevin Warren said” We’ll work through these issues.’’

Ryan Day the head coach of Ohio State football said “I am appreciative of our big ten colleagues for reconsidering the six game requirement to qualify for the Big Ten championship game.”

Ohio State has the 2nd most wins all-time in the Big Ten Championship Game. They have also been in the past three years and won all three. If Ohio State will not be in the championship game, Indiana will play Northwestern. However, if the committee changes the rule, Ohio State will play Northwestern.

One of the reasons that the big ten would change the rules to allow Ohio State to play in the championship is that they are ranked the number four team in the nation even though they have only played five games. This year due to Covid the committees of all divisions are having a tough time deciding on which teams to put where,considering all teams will have played different amounts of games.

Northwestern will play their final game of the regular season against Illinois. Leading Northwestern to the championship game is QB Peyton Ramsey, LB Blake Gallagher and WR Kyric Mcgowan. If Ohio State is chosen to come they will be led by QB Justin Fields WR Garrett Wilson and LB Pete Werner. If it turns out that Ohio State can not come it would be Indiana and they would have been led by QB Michael Penix but he is injured so now they are led by WR Ty Fryfogle WR Whop Philyor and LB Micah Mcfadden.

This is a link to Big Ten Championship History.

This is a picture of where all Big Ten Football teams are located.